<![CDATA[Ordinary Girlz Book Reviews - Author Interviews/ Featured Authors]]>Mon, 01 Feb 2016 21:13:36 -0800Weebly<![CDATA[Guest Post by Author Harold J Fischel]]>Mon, 01 Jun 2015 12:32:27 GMThttp://ordinarygirlzbookreviews.weebly.com/author-interviews-featured-authors/guest-post-by-author-harold-j-fischel
Today we welcome Harold J. Fischel, author of the book Anthony. He will be guest posting for us today at Ordinary Girlz.as part of the Anthony Virtual Book Tour.

Although all events in my novels are fictional and a product of my imagination, the seeds come out of a rich reservoir of personal experiences. While studying law in New York City, I volunteered at the Court Clinic and later at the ward for the criminally insane at Belleview Hospital.  My experiences there were enough to fill several novels. After practicing law for a short time in New York City, I served two years in the U.S. Army. I could have written my own version of Catch Twenty-Two. Maybe someday I will; only this time the events will not be fictitious. As the saying goes, the truth is better than fiction.

After completing my tour of duty in the Army, I took an overseas discharge and went to the Netherlands to rebuild a company which had been owned by my family for over one-hundred years. As a young American, former captain in the US Army, living in Europe during much of the Vietnam era, you quickly develop a thick skin. But I hasten to add there were also many wonderful experiences. While rebuilding the company I got to travel extensively. My frequent visits to Czechoslovakia, at that time a country behind the iron curtain, made me cherish the freedoms we enjoy in the West. I was in Czechoslovakia a few days before the invasion by East German troops and returned a week after the so-called liberation. The change in the mood of the local population was really remarkable. My travels also took me to the Far East and I was privileged to have my Japanese business colleagues teach me much about Japanese culture, traditions, and customs.

After more than twenty years in Europe it was time to return home to the USA. This time I took a job with a Chinese company to manage its USA subsidiary. This meant numerous yearly trips to mainland China. I had a front row seat to watch the explosive growth of that country from 1990 until 2007 the year I retired.

I never intended to become a writer. I started writing for my own enjoyment. That eventually led to the publication of Anthony. The good reviews encouraged me to write another novel, and now I am hooked. I love to write! Much of my material comes from current events. I am news junky, and, rather than write a blog to express my opinion, I let hot-topic issues flow naturally into the stories I write. I make sure the story itself remains central but I do try to evoke empathy in my readers for the characters central to these news stories. I am careful not to preach or express an opinion on the issues. Examples of this in my novel Anthony are: The bullying Anthony endures when he moves into a new neighborhood, and, later in the book, his intimate relationship with his guardian. His relationships with his African-American roommate and with his own lesbian daughter also did not find their way into my novel accidentally.          


About the Author

Harold J. Fischel, a graduate of Washington & Lee University and the NYU School of Law, has lived and worked on four different continents. His family fled the Netherlands shortly after the Nazi invasion, moving to Curacao and Aruba before settling in the United States in 1952.

After law school, Fischel served the US Army in Germany, later retiring as a captain. Since then, he again lived in the Netherlands, before returning to the United States to work for the US subsidiary of a Chinese company.

Fischel is now retired and living in Michigan with his wife, Jan, and their  beloved Labrador retriever. He has two daughters, five wonderful grandchildren, and two great sons-in-law. Since retiring, he has published two novels and is working on a third.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/harold.fischel
Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8112296.Harold_J_Fischel

Buy Links

Amazon
Barnes and Noble
Book Depository
Kobo


]]>
<![CDATA[Author Interview with Vicki Leigh]]>Thu, 13 Nov 2014 13:23:31 GMThttp://ordinarygirlzbookreviews.weebly.com/author-interviews-featured-authors/author-interview-with-vicki-leigh
Catch Me When I Fall, by Vicki Leigh

Genre: young-adult, urban-fantasy, paranormal-romance

Publisher: Curiosity Quills Press

Date of Release: October 23, 2014

Cover Artist: Conzpiracy Digital Arts

About Catch Me When I Fall:

Recruited at his death to be a Protector of the Night, seventeen-year-old Daniel Graham has spent two-hundred years fighting Nightmares and guarding humans from the clawed, red-eyed creatures that feed off people’s fears. Each night, he risks his eternal life, having given up his chance at an afterlife when he chose to become a Protector. That doesn’t stop a burnt-out Daniel from risking daring maneuvers during each battle. He’s become one of the best, but he wants nothing more than to stop.

Then he’s given an assignment to watch over sixteen-year-old Kayla Bartlett, a clinically depressed patient in a psychiatric ward. Nightmares love a human with a tortured past. Yet, when they take a deep interest in her, appearing in unprecedented numbers, the job becomes more dangerous than any Daniel’s ever experienced. He fights ruthlessly to keep the Nightmares from overwhelming his team and Kayla. Soon, Daniel finds himself watching over Kayla during the day, drawn to why she’s different, and what it is about her that attracts the Nightmares. And him.

A vicious attack on Kayla forces Daniel to break the first Law and reveal his identity. Driven by his growing feelings for her, he whisks her away to Rome where others like him can keep her safe. Under their roof, the Protectors discover what Kayla is and why someone who can manipulate Nightmares has her in his sights. But before they can make a move, the Protectors are betrayed and Kayla is kidnapped. Daniel will stop at nothing to save her. Even if it means giving up his immortality.


| Amazon US | Amazon UK | Goodreads | Kobo


Author Interview with Vicki Leigh
About The Author:

Adopted at three-days-old by a construction worker and a stay-at-home mom, Vicki Leigh grew up in a small suburb of Akron, Ohio where she learned to read by the age of four and considered being sent to her room for punishment as an opportunity to dive into another book. By the sixth grade, Vicki penned her first, full-length screenplay. If she couldn’t be a writer, Vicki would be a Hunter (think Dean and Sam Winchester) or a Jedi. Her favorite place on earth is Hogwarts (she refuses to believe it doesn’t exist), and her favorite dreams include solving cases alongside Sherlock Holmes. Vicki is an editor for Curiosity Quills Press and is represented by Sarah Negovetich of Corvisiero Literary Agency.

Find Vicki Leigh Online: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

]]>
<![CDATA[Author Interview with Billy Lovecraft]]>Thu, 13 Nov 2014 13:22:40 GMThttp://ordinarygirlzbookreviews.weebly.com/author-interviews-featured-authors/author-interview-with-billy-lovecraft
What The Cthulhu Detective Squad Does For Fun

I get this question all the time: Billy Lovecraft, you're twelve, you seem like a cool guy, but what do you and the Cthulhu Detective Squad do when you're not saving the world from ancient aliens?

Well, I'm glad you asked.

Different members of the Squad have different things they like to do to relax.

Duh.

Jackrabbit—the youngest member and a caffeine nut—can usually be found playing with Cthulittle or playing video games. He seems to be happy with either one. As long as there's coffee. I should also mention that he is terrible at paying attention.

But not because of the video games.

We all play video games.

Jackrabbit's just constantly amped up.

Sweet-tooth—next in line when it comes to age—enjoys more esoteric pursuits. I mean, not including the constant influx of candy. Hence the nickname. As one of my occult experts (technically an occult lieutenant under Metal Max), he spends a lot of time in The Library studying ancient tomes. He really likes it.

He doesn't like the living masks whose eyes follow you around the room, but, hey, who does?

Big Jim—our science and tech guru—plays video games the least. Which makes me think he's a little off. But he builds all of our equipment. Stuff like our Tesla Cannons. Our surveillance grid. Our new Tesla Grenades. All kinds of toys. It's great. And this is all what he loves doing. The big nerd.

On the other hand, his "experiments" have cost me about $350,000 but... well, so it goes, right?

Metal Max—head of occult research and defense—also spends a poopton of time in The Library with Sweet-Tooth. He's the only one besides me who has unrestricted access to the vault and all the other horrors in the basement. But he can't go near the Necronomicon without my say-so. Just how it is. As for more "regular" fun stuff, well, he's crazy-good at Halo.

I kinda hate him for that, actually.

Medusa—my second-in-command, and Sweet-tooth's older sister—likes both "girl" stuff and "boy" stuff. She's funky like that, which is why she's cool. To quote her: "Just because I eat monsters for breakfast doesn't mean I can't be a girl, too." Which is true.

I also saw her single-handedly turn an Elder Thing into jelly once.

She's tough.

When it comes to what we all enjoy doing together, as I said, we're big on video games. Halo and Left 4 Dead 2 are favorites. So is Garry's Mod. Payday 2. And... well, that list just goes on and on. We have "Movie Night" at Lovecraft HQ, too. It's the one time non-Squad members are allowed to come in and fart around a bit. We like Ghostbusters, Aliens, Gremlins 2. Lots of horror movies and old Chuck Jones cartoons. Once a week, we go to Manny's Diner nearby and do a group dinner.

It's a good time.

But then, yep, duty calls. To be honest, we don't have much free time.

Between school and saving the world from psychotic cults...




But that's what we're here for. That's what we do. If you think there's something weird going on, reach out to us at cthulhudetectivesquad@gmail.com or https://twitter.com/BillyLovecraft.




Don't worry. We're professionals.

]]>
<![CDATA[Catch Me When I fall Blog Hop My Worst Nightmare]]>Mon, 03 Nov 2014 12:56:49 GMThttp://ordinarygirlzbookreviews.weebly.com/author-interviews-featured-authors/catch-me-when-i-fall-blog-hop-my-worst-nightmare
Picture
Picture
Hey everybody welcome to my Worst Nightmare Post. I have to be honest I don't have a lot of fears, at least not any that are completely rational. I'm not afraid of spiders or other bugs, I'm not really afraid of heights, I don't like to fly in airplanes I am a bit of a nervous flier but that has never stopped me from getting on a plane.
I do have a couple irrational fears that may or may not make sense to some but hey they are what they are just that irrational. My first fear is clowns. ( thanks Stephen King ) Ever since I read It by Stephen King in grade 7 I have a fear of clowns. Happy, Sad, Creepy whatever I don't like them they freak me out. Something meant to make children happy I find utterly disturbing and unsettling. While I am not paralyzed by that fear you won't find me going out of my way to have one a any of my kids birthday parties or taking my kids to get a balloon from one at the circus.

My second fear which I may have mentioned in a post or two is zombies, reanimated corpses, walkers, call them what you want  I am freaked out by the whole idea of that. Why you ask? I will tell you ( This is my irrational sometimes overactive imagination talking here ) I think it could happen. With all the advances in medicine and technology I believe that it could happen sometime in the distant future, maybe not in my lifetime but I still believe it could happen. I have thought about this quite a bit actually and here are a couple of senerio's  that I think could be plausable.

1) What if a virus was developed in a research lab and the virus became unstable and mutated causing the infected hosts body to rot and break down causing dementia and canabalistic behavior but not kill them? Resulting in a weird rotting human  epidemic?

2) The government is experimenting with biomedical warfare and the experiment goes horribly wrong causing the test subjects to develop some strange mutation that instead of killing them turns them into some terrible flesh eating monster.

3) A government research facility develops a way to reanimate human corpses through biotechnology and robotics to fight in wars, so as not to risk loosing any more live soldiers in armed combat in the next world wars.

I have a few other theories on how this could happen but they all run along the same vein. Experimentation gone horribly wrong. My husband loves the show Walking Dead, I have a really hard time even being in the same room when that show is on, besides being visually disturbing the whole idea just creeps me out. This mother's day my present from my husband was to have two of my daughters and myself be extras in a Zombie movie  written and produced by a good friend of ours for a film festival, Walk with Me the title of the film was shot through the zombies perspective, and while watching the behind the scene makeup artistry and such and having a really good time behind the scenes it really didn't do anything to allivate any of my crazy irrational fears that this could be a reality someday. Don't get me wrong I am far from preparing for a future zombie appocalpse, but I am afraid that someday it could be a reality. 

You can check out some of our pictures from that day on the set of Walk with Me by clicking on the following link.
http://instagram.com/p/n4QV2dCG5O/?modal=true
http://instagram.com/p/n4QV2dCG5O/?modal=true
http://instagram.com/p/n4QhDaiG5g/?modal=true
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fgZzaMxXlwA&app=desktop
]]>
<![CDATA[Wicked Path Book Blitz]]>Mon, 06 Oct 2014 18:53:18 GMThttp://ordinarygirlzbookreviews.weebly.com/author-interviews-featured-authors/wicked-path-book-blitz
Picture
Wicked Path, by Eliza Tilton

Genre: young-adult, fantasy

Publisher: Curiosity Quills Press

Date of Release: October 6, 2014

Series: Daath Chronicles (#2)


Cover Artist:
Michelle Johnson at Blue Sky Design (https://www.facebook.com/pages/Blue-Sky-Design/1401031006827361?sk=timeline)

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22452354-wicked-path?from_search=true

Amazon US: http://amzn.com/B00O6APVAY
Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00O6APVAY
(None for Barnes & noble or Kobo, as it's an Amazon KDP exclusive)




Description:

In Wicked Path: Book Two of the Daath Chronicles brother and sister are forced to opposite sides of Tarrtainya on a fast-paced adventure where the wildlife isn’t the only thing trying to kill them.

Three months have passed since Avikar defeated the Reptilian Prince, and he still can’t remember his battle with Lucino. On the hunt for answers, he returns to the scene of the fight and discovers a strange connection between his family’s dagger and the mysterious kingdom of Daath, and it seems only his distant father can reveal the truth behind it all.

Before Avikar can travel back home, Lucy assaults him in the market and forces him to flee to Nod Mountains—a place few dare to enter, and even less return from. With Raven and her childhood friend by his side, they must survive the treacherous journey through the pass with a vengeful Lucy hunting them. If they don’t, they’ll never see home again.

Jeslyn’s new life in Luna Harbor is the perfect remedy for her confused and broken heart. But when a group of mercenaries kidnap her beloved Grandfather, interrupting her daily routine as his jewelry apprentice, she's forced to join forces with the one person from her past she tried to forget.

And his assistance comes with a price.

Picture
About The Author:

Eliza graduated from Dowling College with a BS in Visual Communications. When she’s not arguing with excel at her day job, or playing Dragon Age 2, again, she’s writing. Her YA stories hold a bit of the fantastical and there’s always a hot romance. She resides on Long Island with her husband, two kids and one very snuggly pit bull. Find Eliza Tilton Online: Website (http://elizatilton.com/)| Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/pages/Eliza-Tilton-YA-Author/245765852217133) | Twitter (https://twitter.com/ElizaTilton)| Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7047768.Eliza_Tilton)

]]>
<![CDATA[Remembering Kaylee Cooper  by Christopher Francis]]>Tue, 30 Sep 2014 03:13:38 GMThttp://ordinarygirlzbookreviews.weebly.com/author-interviews-featured-authors/remembering-kaylee-cooper-by-christopher-francis
Remembering Kaylee Cooper, by Christopher Francis
Genre: middle-grade paranormal-fantasy
Publisher: Curiosity Quills Press
Date of Release: September 30, 2014
Cover Artist: Christopher Francis: Website.
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22698482-remembering-kaylee-cooper?ac=1

Description:

Kaylee Cooper is certain that Alex will become friends with a ghost this year. Alex thinks that he is far too old to be listening to a first grader and encourages Kaylee to stop jeopardizing his important sixth grade social life. Kaylee doesn’t listen and finds awkward ways to spend as much time with Alex as possible, even if it means following him into the boy’s washroom.

Fed up, Alex develops a strategic plan to ultimately help him get rid of Kaylee Cooper for good.

However, he soon learns about the mysterious legend of Screaming Ridge that pulls and unlikely group of friends together, including the girl of his dreams, and the school’s meanest bully. When they discover that the legend is real, and that Kaylee Cooper is at the core of the mystery, Alex stares death in the face and helps save her from an eternal life of misery and confusion.



Here is a sneak peak at Remembering Kaylee Cooper by Christopher Francis

Excerpt #1

Mrs. Stoolpigeon stood at the front of the class writing a complicated paragraph on the whiteboard. Each word was carefully printed, making sure the sentences were in straight lines and evenly spaced apart. The whole process was painful to watch. No wonder the students often dosed off during one of her lessons. Alex liked to use that time to daydream.

As he glanced out the window that morning, a dark cloud slowly covered the sun. He crouched down in his seat again and added another fact to his list.

Fact # 4: The Storm

Alex remembered that night with perfect clarity; the smell of worms drowning in the cornfields, the faint white flashes in the sky exposing the black funnel clouds along the horizon. The intense winds, the crackle of thunder, the heavy rain pounding his face as he powered his bike along the flooded side roads were all too fresh in his memory.

“Holy cow, holy cow, holy cow, holy cow.” Alex had watched in horror as the power lines ignited sparks along the tarmac. The water on the ground reflected each explosion, like small rockets blasting aimlessly out into the trees.

The storm was the biggest to ever hit the tiny town of Timpleville.

As Alex glanced around to make sure he was still on the road, a white cat appeared in front of him. The tiny animal’s back arched as the bike raced toward it. Alex’s fingers searched frantically for the brakes as the handlebars shook wildly from side to side. Skidding helplessly along the slippery surface, Alex managed to swerve to the side, missing it by inches. However, before he could regain his balance, Alex crashed over a guardrail and into the raging creek below.

The intense rain caused the icy water to rush violently downstream. What was usually a two-foot deep stream with a gentle trickle had turned into a monstrous surge climbing well over Alex’s head. This same creek, where Alex used to catch crayfish with Henry during sunny afternoons over the past summer, was instantly a horrifying mess of furious waves and debris. Still trying to hang onto his bike, Alex frantically reached out for a large rock jutting out from the base of an uprooted tree. His hand scraped painfully along the jagged surface, ripping open his skin. The fast water tossed him around like clothes in a dryer. He had no choice but to let go of his bike and hope it would wash up along the bank.

Flickers of light bounced between the clouds as Alex clawed desperately at anything he could get his hands on. His fingertips scratched the sides of the riverbank, pulling up nothing but mud and grass. Alone and sinking, his screams left Alex with a mouthful of creek water.

Under the chaos, Alex found himself in a world of darkness. His muscles quickly tired from the pained attempts at keeping himself up and he gradually found himself slipping farther under the water. His body numbed as he was tossed and turned about. But as his head was pulled under, a cool, peaceful sensation came over him. The deafening sounds of rushing water totally disappeared, and the quiet grumbles beneath the surface left Alex with a feeling of acceptance. His mind became clear. Alex knew there was no point fighting it anymore.

As he choked and gasped out his last few breaths, Alex relaxed his body and closed his eyes. He imagined Daisy standing by the edge, waiting calmly for him to climb up and out of the creek. Alex would speak confidently to her and tell her how wonderful he thought she was. His friend Henry would be there, too. Alex would shake Henry’s hand and apologize for spilling beef curry all over his head. Alex also thought of his parents. His mum would give him a big hug and tell Alex that everything was going to be okay. His dad would smile and place his hand on Alex’s shoulder. The sun would be out. There would not be a cloud in the sky.

However, there was still something left inside Alex. There were too many people in his life that he cared about. Besides, his social life was just getting started, and he was friends with ‘the’ Daisy Darlington. Alex was not going to give up now.  Just as life entered back into his body, a hand reached down into the raging creek and yanked Alex up to the surface.

He never knew who saved him. The girl quickly disappeared into the darkness.

That night, Alex was convinced he was rescued by a ghost.

As strange as that was, what stood out for Alex, was what Kaylee said to him the next day at school.

“I know who saved your life.”


About The Author:

CHRISTOPHER FRANCIS Born in Brisbane, Australia, Christopher was accepted at age 19 into Sheridan College’s Animation program before earning a degree in Sociology from McMaster University. He then enjoyed a two-year adventure overseas working with children, before completing his Bachelor of Education degree at York University. He is now teaching junior and intermediate level students in Burlington, Ontario. Through Christopher’s experience working with children, he found writing and illustrating to be one of his passions. Currently working on a middle grade series, he recently completed and illustrated the first three books. He has also created seven other children’s picture books and illustrated children’s novels for independent authors

Find Christopher Francis Online: Website (http://www.francisart.com/)| Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/chrisifrancis) | Twitter (http://www.twitter.com/@chrisifrancis)| Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8379239.Christopher_Francis)


]]>
<![CDATA[Guest Post with Ann Noser author of How to Date Dead Guys]]>Wed, 16 Jul 2014 11:40:52 GMThttp://ordinarygirlzbookreviews.weebly.com/author-interviews-featured-authors/guest-post-with-ann-noser-author-of-how-to-date-dead-guys Picture
Who You Gonna Call? Ghostbusters!

 

Recently, my family giggled through both Ghostbuster movies.



My book, How to Date Dead Guys, also deals with ghosts¾but none of them are slimy (at least, not at first…).

It occurred to me that the main character, Emma Roberts, is the opposite of a "ghostbuster". She's more of a "ghost-assistant". She helps them resolve their abruptly-ended pasts.

Which leads me to manipulate Ray Parker, Jr.'s original lyrics:




Picture
 (To the tune of "Ghostbusters")

If someone drowns in your neighborhood

Who ya gonna call?

Emma Roberts!

 

If it's somethin' weird an' it don't look good

Who ya gonna call?

Emma Roberts!

 

I ain't DATING no ghost

I ain't DATING no ghost

 

If you're still seein' folks when they should be dead

Who can you call?

Emma Roberts!

 

You find a corpse sitting near your bed

Oh who ya gonna call?

Emma Roberts!

 

I ain't DATING no ghost

I ain't DATING no ghost

 

Rather silly lyrics, don't you think? Weird Al needn't worry. I'll let him keep his job.


Picture
But, let's face it,

GHOSTS are a prevalent force in many movies

Picture
Not many of them can dance like Swayze.


Picture
Seeing ghosts makes people turn crazy.


Picture
You might lose your head.


Picture
If they're under your bed.


Picture
And Whoopi's busy with The View

So Emma Roberts will have to do.

Unless you'd prefer Scooby Doo.


Picture
It is my hope that How to Date Dead Guys

Makes you laugh like Ghostbusters,

Swoon like Ghost,

Worry and sweat like The Shining and The Sixth Sense,

And smile like Harry Potter and Scooby Doo.


]]>
<![CDATA[Restraint Cover Reveal]]>Thu, 12 Jun 2014 11:55:07 GMThttp://ordinarygirlzbookreviews.weebly.com/author-interviews-featured-authors/restraint-cover-revealPicture
A FORBIDDEN LOVE WILL BECOME DEEPER.

A LOYALTY WILL BE TESTED.

AND ONLY DARKNESS WILL REMAIN.


One revelation changed everything, turning Eve Collin's world upside down with grief and questions of identity and allegiance. Now as she flees enemies that refuse to give up, Eve must also face the mounting attraction between herself and her gargoyle protector. Will she ever truly be safe? How much will she sacrifice to survive and who will she become?


Restraint is an addictive pleasure a spellbinding continuation of Eve's journey of self-discovery, love and sacrifice.


Readers captivated by Revelation will eagerly devour Restraint.


Restraint is volume two in The Revelation Series.
 A special thank you to @yaReads YAReads Blog Tours for asking us to be apart of Randi Cooley Wilson's new book reveal, buy links will be added as soon as they are made available.


Picture
About the Author:

Randi was born and raised in Massachusetts where she attended Bridgewater State University and graduated with a degree in Communication Studies. After graduation she moved to California where she lived happily bathed in sunshine and warm weather for fifteen years.

Randi and her husband recently moved back to Massachusetts with their daughter where she was encouraged to begin writing again.

Revelation is her first novel and The Revelations Series is her first New Adult Paranormal Romance book series.

“I’ve had a love affair with books, writing and storytelling since childhood. It has been a dream of mine to introduce this world and these characters to you. I hope I’ve done them justice.”

Randi loves to hear from readers, you can reach out to her via Twitter: R_CooleyWilson and/or Facebook: authorrandicooleywilson


Website: http://randicooleywilson.com/


]]>
<![CDATA[Guest Post with Author Pam Torres]]>Wed, 04 Jun 2014 10:36:29 GMThttp://ordinarygirlzbookreviews.weebly.com/author-interviews-featured-authors/guest-post-with-author-pam-torres Picture
Ten Things Everyone Needs To Know About Dogs

When I set out to write a book about dogs, I had a skimpy knowledge of the canine species. Mostly, I had experience and most of it wasn't very positive. I have memories of my Dad bringing home strays, only to have them get killed by the neighbors dog or hit by a car. Then as an adult, I learned that when everyone in the house wants a pet, it’s usually Mom that ends up with the brunt of the work. I also had a huge fear of large dogs due to an attack I experienced while riding my trike one day.  How does one write about something when you don’t know very much about it? Research. So I began to research and what I learned changed my perspective and my feelings toward dogs. Here are ten things I learned. Some of them are fun, most are interesting and some are painful.

  1- When a dog wags it’s tail it doesn’t necessarily mean he’s happy to see you.  Evaluate the entire dogs body language or you may find yourself in a world of hurt. See Animal Planet article here.

2- With 83.3 million dogs in America, many of them living in 56.7% of households, it’s important for everyone to understand dog behavior. Every year 4.5 million Americans are bitten by dogs. CDC statistics.

3- Black dogs are less likely to be adopted for several reasons. They tend to blend into the background, go unnoticed at shelters. The “black dog” has negative connotations that make them less desirable. Fifty-four percent of shelters report that their inmates suffer from Big Black Dog Syndrome.  

4- Move over Dancing With the Stars, Freestyle Dancing with Dogs is heading for the big time. Yes, Dancing with Dogs is now a real event with rules and judges and yes, the dogs are the stars! See the YouTube Video here.

5- There are phone apps for dogs. Who knew? Try Dog Toy a free app that will have your dog, or any dog for that matter following you around to find out where the sound is from. Here are some other fun free apps for you to try: Dog Whistle, Tag, Screen Cleaner, Click Dog. Even petfinder.com has a free app for adopting pets. See Mashable article here for even more apps.

6-Dogs can play copy-cat. Scientists have now proven that dogs can learn through imitation. Surprisingly, our dogs can mimic our behavior which means they are likely to behave according to how we act and behave. 

7- Senior Dogs are developing CDS, cognitive dysfunction syndrome. These changes in the brain are almost exactly like what occurs in human brains with Alzheimer’s disease. 

8- “It’s better to hop on three legs than limp on four.”Tripawds While researching for my short story “Three Is Enough” I learned how common canine cancer has become, but I also learned that survival and living a full life is also possible. 

9- There are at least 10,000 puppy mills in the United States and only 3,000 of them are regulated. The majority of puppy mills have extreme overcrowding and stacked cages that are usually wire mesh. Breeding females have an average nine puppies a year. See Humane Society.

10- Dog fighting is illegal but  the newly enacted Animal Fighting Spectator Prohibition Act, included in the final 2014 Farm Bill, makes it a federal felony to knowingly bring a minor under the age of 16 to a dogfight or cockfight. It also creates a federal misdemeanor to knowingly attend a fight as a spectator.

Most of all, I learned that it’s our responsibility to speak for the animals that don’t have voices of their own. I will never see another dog the same way again.


Social Media Links

Facebook

Project Madison

Twitter

Goodreads

Pinterest

You can find It’s NOT Just A Dog! at the online stores below:

Amazon

Barnes And Noble

IndieBound



]]>
<![CDATA[How To Date Dead Guys Cover Reveal]]>Mon, 02 Jun 2014 11:07:44 GMThttp://ordinarygirlzbookreviews.weebly.com/author-interviews-featured-authors/how-to-date-dead-guys-cover-revealPicture

How to Date Dead Guys by Ann Noser
Series: Under The Blood Moon
Genre: new-adult, urban-fantasy
Publisher: Curiosity Quills Press
Date of Publication: July 15th, 2014
Cover Reveal: June 2nd, 2014


College sophomore Emma Roberts remembers her mother’s sage advice:  “don’t sleep around, don’t burp in public, and don’t tell anyone you see ghosts”.  But when charming Mike Carlson drowns in the campus river under her watch, Emma’s sheltered life shatters.



Blamed for Mike’s death and haunted by nightmares, Emma turns to witchcraft and a mysterious Book of Shadows to bring him back.  Under a Blood Moon, she lights candles, draws a pentacle on the campus bridge, and casts a spell.  The invoked river rages up against her, but she escapes its fury.  As she stumbles back to the dorm, a stranger drags himself from the water and follows her home. And he isn't the only one.  



Instead of raising Mike, Emma assists the others she stole back from the dead—a pre-med student who jumped off the bridge, a desperate victim determined to solve his own murder, and a frat boy Emma can’t stand…at first.  More comfortable with the dead than the living, Emma delves deeper into the seductive Book of Shadows.  Her powers grow, but witchcraft may not be enough to protect her against the vengeful river and the killers that feed it their victims.

Inspired by the controversial Smiley Face Murders, HOW TO DATE DEAD GUYS will ignite the secret powers hidden deep within each of us.





]]>